THE MARVELOUS MISADVENTURES OF THE UNFAMOUS: JONTI

Image

Off the top of my head, I can’t name too many record labels, considering most of the artist that stay in rotation in my playlist are either unsigned or part of a garage industry put together 20 minutes before the drop of an EP posted on bandcamp. We all know about Def Jam, Atlantic, Jive, Universal, and of course the other mainstream labels, but no stamp of approval has looked better than one signed by Peanut Butter Wolf at Stone’s Throw. Considering how often I check their website at www.stonesthrow.com ,I can honestly say that I can always find a gem stashed away in that cyber space.

This is how I came across the one and only Jonti.

Normally saying that someone does something that even words can’t define would be considered the easy way out, but after listening to Jonti’s music, I’ve learned that sometimes that statement holds a truth to it. I came across his project  Sine & Moon one day while on the front page of Stone’s Throw and was attracted to the psychedelic Angry Beavers meets Land of The Lost scenery on the cover. When I got that first listen I completely understood why the cover looked so trippy because that place was exactly where I went when the sounds came together. There is a very electronic, funky feel to this music that almost immediately demands the listener to surrender their senses and go on the journey that was painted onto the first page of the Stones Throw site that day.

After laughing at a couple of the choice track titles such as Flesh of Morning and Confused birds, I noticed that 36 minutes had passed and that I downloaded this project for free!!! Now if that was his free shit, what would his other work sound like?  And who the hell was this guy? Well here at rocbottom we got a chance to figure out both of these things, and I can honestly say that I haven’t been disappointed yet. Image

Professor Lunchbag: You don’t just sing, you don’t just produce, and you’re not just good with instruments. Instead you manage to do all of these things and wow people all over the globe. Which of these 3 things did
you manage to learn first?

Jonti: Hah, I appreciate the kind comments, but I’m more passionately curious about those things than actually really good at them. I’m still learning. I’m starting vocal training next week too. I started playing guitar and then making electronic music on a lil multitrack and then upgraded to a laptop soon after.

PL: Of all the instruments you’ve learned over the years, which
has been your most challenging to master? Which one would you say that you use most commonly in your music?

J: Vocals for sure. When I started doing them a few years ago it was just like I’ll try sing into this mic when no one’s looking, and maybe it’ll be okay, and then it was fun so i kept doing it! but now its probably the thing i use most in the studio/live and collaborations, so I’m really interested into how I can get better, as its still in very early days.

PL: You seem to have traveled a lot at such a young age.
What advantages over other artists do you believe you get from seeing so much of what the world has to offer?

J: Traveling is one of the fruits of life, and its really frickin’ awesome to experience different sectors of this glowing world. I’m really grateful to even be in the USA right now, it’s somewhere I never thought I would be, and I could be gone any day without notice here so I try make the most out of each day. Theres lots that just happens by being here, like last night I played and met Mike D(from the Beastie
Boys) at his event and then I went to chill at a session with George
Clinton which was actually life changing! He was doing a song called
‘All in your gutski’s with nutski’s!’ Hah! … There was so much cool
shit going down.

PL: How is it that your unique sound became a part of Stone’s
Throw? Was signing with the label a hard decision to make?

J: I finished the Twirling album back in ’09 and sent it Elysian
Mastering (ST’s mastering team) with hopes that they would do it. They
dug it and passed it onto Wolf and it got released last year. At the
time I didn’t even think twice about it. Those are my heroes. Its
really fun there. Maybe too fun.

PL: There are only 24, sometimes 25 hours in a day. About how
much time do you dedicate to your music in a week?

J: Its the first thing I dedicate anytime I have to. I love it so much.
For most of childhood, it was all I had, and drawing, so doing it 24/7
isn’t that weird.

PL: As far as your talents are concerned, what were the most
encouraging things anybody has ever told you?

J: The most encouraging thing would be someone says that the music makes
them feel happy. Thats all I ever really wanted to do. I remember my
dad, (who’s not really a music head) really loved Louise Armstrong and
how the songs made him feel. I can only hope to have songs like
that when im older. At the moment, I know my recordings have been
pretty weird, but I’m working towards that goal.

PL: Considering just how creative you are and how many
possibilities your music can hold due to your talent, do you ever find
it kind of unfair to your competition to be so damn good? Who would you
even consider to be the competition?

J: hahaha, how could anybody answer that ha! I’m still a learning musician
and envy many other producers and im not just saying that to be humble
lol. Although I don’t think anyone could mess with my outrageously good looks.Image

PL: If you don’t mind me asking, what drug do you recommend me use before I listen to your tracks to maximize my listening experience?

J: Ha, I hear shrooms are good. And weed too. I’ve never done drugs to it before so i wouldn’t know.

PL: Would you say that right now you are living your dream? What kind of sacrifices did you have to make to be where you are right now?

J: I am definitely living my dream. There’s always a price to pay. It’s a little tricky maintaining a relationship when your not in the same
country for long periods of time. I’ve been in a different home every month for the last 5 months, so you can forget about being settled. But stuff like that are small prices to pay for what I get to do
honestly.

PL: How far do you see your own career going?

J: I’m going to be doing this until my body physically can’t. But whether
or not its under ‘Jonti’ is a different story. I really am interested in composing for other mediums too.

PL: In order from last to first, what are the tracks in your iTunes 25 most played? Does this say anything about you?

J: Err, its actually mostly Jonti tracks when im just checking the mixes in Itunes lol. I guess that says something about me *Laughs* But other artists’ in there are Outkast, Tribe, Dilla, Eno, Gnarls Barkely, Flylo, Beyonce etc.

PL: When can we expect to be relieved and here some more of that
Jonti shit we love to bump over here at rocbottom?

J: Sine And Moon Vinyl will hopefully be out May 8th. Im working on an EP
now in addition to a crazy album i’ve been working on for a few years
called ‘Tokorats’. Thats my blood, sweat and tears all in there, i
cant wait to release it.

PL: Do you have any last words for us?

J: Keep the romance high!

We are always blessed to have dope artist stop by and chat with us and we love to put you on hot shit. Make sure to check out these albums on the links below. I haven’t steered you wrong yet right? Until next, ears open kiddies  – Prof. Lunchbag

Imagehttp://stonesthrow.com/news/2012/01/jonti-sine-and-moon-album-free-download

http://stonesthrow.com/news/2011/08/jonti-twirligig

Leave a comment